Toothpaste Man

Zishran Garces
3 min readMar 17, 2018

--

I was getting bored of my repetitive life. Everyday I would wake up, brush my teeth, eat breakfast, brush my teeth, shower, go to school, go home, eat dinner, brush my teeth, sleep, and then wake up again and continue the loop. An endless cycle of mundaneness until one day I noticed something out of the ordinary…

Three months has already passed since I last bought toothpaste and the toothpaste I’ve been using in those months was still full like I had never used it a single time since the day I bought it. I was staying in a dormitory room alone for that school year because my roommate due to some personal reasons had to stop going to school for that year and I don’t get any guests so only me had access to my room’s restroom where I keep my toothpaste. I was getting scared, how could a toothpaste still be full after being used everyday for the last three months?

So I began to investigate, I set up a hidden camera in my restroom, after that I started emptying the toothpaste in the sink, but to my surprise, the contents of the toothpaste did not decrease. I dropped the toothpaste, got out of the dorm, ran to the nearest sari-sari store, bought a tube of toothpaste, and started emptying the toothpaste in front of the old lady I bought it from. The result was the same, the toothpaste did not empty. The old lady looked as if she wanted to strangle me. After a minute of staring with amazement and squeezing the toothpaste, the old lady smacked me with a broomstick and made me cleanup the mess. At that moment, it realized, thanks to this gift my life will never have to be boring again!

I became a superhero, because having this kind of gift is very rare and must not be wasted, it must be used to make the world a better place. Stopping crime has been added to my daily activities making my life more exciting, making me happy.

The people I have saved are truly grateful to me, but there are still some people who hates me because the media hates me. They’re saying that my tactics for stopping crime is messy, and that I am the root cause of the traffic jams here in Manila. But I thats the only way I know how to incapacitate criminals, by covering them in lots and lots of toothpaste, oh well, haters gonna hate.

Everything was going fine until one day I heard a scream and a loud thump from the dorm room next door. Quickly, I went to the door next door and kicked it down. It was dark, when my eyes adjusted there were a girl and a guy naked on the bed. They screamed with shock, I screamed with shock and embarrassment, and accidentally squeezed the toothpaste I was holding and that was where everything fell apart.

The media was quick to tell the story of the drowning of two the students by the once superhero now tagged as a serial killer. My image was destroyed in a matter of days. Regret consumed me which stopped me from continuing on being a superhero. I started to focus only on my studies and tried to forget everything that happened.

I just hope that people will not forget the good things I’ve done before the accident. I hope they remember the superhero they once loved, Toothpaste Man.

--

--